Kwara State University, Malete was established in the year 2008, Law No 13 of Kwara State by Governor Bukola Saraki on 24th December, 2008.

On July 11, 2007 the Kwara State Governor Bukola Saraki inaugurated a Planning Committee under former Governor of Kwara State, Alhaji Mohammed Shaaba Lafiagi to prepare the ground for the establishment of the Kwara State University. The Bill for the Kwara State University was signed into law on 24 December 2008.[1] The certificate and instrument to operate the university was obtained on 9 February 2009 from the National Universities Commission (NUC). The pioneer Vice-Chancellor, Professor Abdul Rasheed Na’Allah, who until his appointment, was Chair of the African American Studies Department of the Western Illinois University, Macomb, United States of America, assumed office on Tuesday, 28 July 2009. When fully operational, the university is planned to have its academic activities operate from three campuses located in MaleteIlesha-Baruba and Osi-Opin.

The Malete campus is the main campus and houses the College of Pure and Applied SciencesCollege of Information and Communication Technology, and the College of Education. Osi (Ekiti local government) campus will house the College of Engineering, College of Humanities, Management and Social Sciences. The Baruba (Baruten Local government) Campus will house the College of Agriculture and Veterinary Sciences.

Kwara State University, Malete is the 34th State-owned University and the 95th university to be approved by the National Universities Commission (NUC) as a conventional university in Nigeria on 9th February, 2009 in Abuja. Documents related to its establishment were presented and they were given certificate to operate. It commenced academic activities on December 17, 2009 with the vice chancellor taking the first lecture.

Kwara State University, Malete is known as the “UNIVERSITY FOR COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT”.

Vision: to be foremost in expanding the frontiers of knowledge and be moat innovative in disseminating knowledge towards advancing cause of humanity.

Mission: to be the fulcrum of knowledge-driven society, building human competencies and fostering determination and competition among people through the instrumentality of modern technology.

Motto: skills and integrity.

The organizational chat of KWASU includes:

Alhaji Abdulfatah Ahmed (Executive governor, kwara state and visitor, kwara state university)

Elder Peter Kisira (deputy governor, kwara state)

Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki (senate president, FRN and founding visitor)

Prof. Ibrahim Gambari, CFR (chancellor, kwara state university)

Alhaji Saidu Isa (pro-chancellor and chairman, governing council)

Prof. Abdulrasheed Na’allah (vice-chancellor, kwara state university)

The governing council members include:

Prof. Abdulrasheed Na’allah

Alhaji Saidu Isa

Mr. Surajudeen Oyedokun Oyebode (registrar and secretary to the council)

Barr. Lateef Okandeji

Alh. Oba Aluko

Alh. Yusuf babatunde

Prof. Hassan Saliu

Alhaji Kola Yusuf

Mrs. Ike Bosede Oranmuyi

Alh. Jubril Haruna

Prof. Sunday Dada

Prof. Sulaiman Jamiu

Alh. Hamed Idris


Prof. Abdulrasheed Na’allah

Prof. Saka Mahmud (academic coordinator to the VC)

Prof. Sulaiman Jamiu (coordinator Admin. to the VC)

Prof. Funsho Oluleye (coordinator to the VC on community development and environment)

Prof. Adedayo Oladimeji (coordinator to the VC on research and industry)

Mr. Surajudeen Oyedokun Oyebode (registrar/secretary to the council)

Mallam Muhammed Ndache (bursar)

Mr. Isiaka Atunde Alao (university libarian)


Prof. Funsho Oluleye (provost, college of agriculture)

Prof. Mohammed Baba Gambari (provost, college of education)

Prof. Leo Daniel (provost, college of engineering and technology)

Prof. Saka Mahmud (provost, college of humanities, management and social sciences)

Prof. Kazeem Gbolagade (provost, college of information and communication technology)

Prof. Silas Sunday Dada (provost, college of pure and applied science)


Prof.(MRS.)Mary kolawole (dean,school of post graduate studies)

Prof.Awam Ampka (dean,school of visual and performing art)

Prof. Adebayo .A. Oladimeji (Ag.dean,school of tourism,hoapitality & event management)

Prof. Abdulganiyu Funsho Alibi (dean,student affairs)

Dr. HenryASwyer (Agdean,school of allied health and environmental sciences)


Functions of the human resources department in Kwara State University, Malete

  1. Recruitment of staff
  2. Appointment exercise
  3. Promotion of both teaching and non teaching staff
  4. Handling disciplinary matters
  5. Welfare of staff (ensuring salaries are paid as at when due)
  6. Training and re-training (seminars and workshop). To enhance productivity
  7. Keeping records of all activities.
  8. Process leave for staff (42 days annual leave for teaching staff, 90days maternity leave, and 14 days paternity leave).

The main function of the human resources department is to manage human being in a way to make them productive.

The department also ensures that human resources work together for the achievement of the university growth.

The department is also responsible for student’s exams and record.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.